Clothing for a software internship interview

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Clothing for a software internship interview

Hey guys, I've got an in-person interview next week. Thought advice can never hurt. So here's the background: I'm a first-year college student applying for a software engineering internship. Now, the norm for those things (college, and software) is extremely casual attire. I don't really care about the norms though, and especially in an interview, I'll be making an effort to look well. Also, I think dressing up will make me appear more competitive against applicants who might have a few years on me as long as I don't look too pretentious.

I was planning on a dress or buttoned shirt and tie. So here are my questions:

1) Considering this field, is that too much? My guess is no, but if you have objections, speak now.

2) I've got a nice dress shirt and tie combo that I like, but I don't think the shirt is a great fit. The dimensions are fine, but it's not a slim fit so there tends to be a lot of extra material floating around my sides. Should I buy another, more slim-fitting shirt for this occasion, or is non-slim alright in a more professional setting?

(Also, would it be possible to get it tailored in 48 hours and should I consider that?)

3) This is my biggest question at the moment: What type of pants should I wear? I'm deciding between a conservative pick (my charcoal suit trousers) and a more modern choice like khaki chinos. My guess is the chino's wouldn't look correct with a baggy shirt, so this question relies on question 2.

I'll try to put up some images soon so you know what I'm looking at.

Also, if you have any more suggestions, I'd love to hear them.

Thanks!

Nothing looks right with a baggy shirt. Khakis are fine. Do the shirt and tie, but if you can either get your shirt taken in or get a fitted shirt.

Comment

A v-neck sweater can solve the baggy shirt problem.

Comment