Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

A word on footwear (a/k/a you really don't NEED black cap-toed balmorals)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A word on footwear (a/k/a you really don't NEED black cap-toed balmorals)

I am a 36-year old attorney. I work at an amlaw 100 law firm, and have been at this firm for over 10 years. I recently "discovered" men's style. I also discovered all of the things I had been doing wrong, which I will probably post about in pieces. One prior error related to footwear-bicycle toe slip on dress shoes, square toes Balmoral shoes for court appearances, etc. I grew up in a blue collar family, and never learned about this stuff before starting in a business casual office. And most people just don't know how to dress. So my eyes were opened recently, and I went down the rabbit hole.

I have since vastly improved my footwear with four pair of allen edmonds shoes, purchased in this order: bourbon MacGregor longwings, dark chili daltons, black Jefferson wingtip oxfords and dark brown strands. I just love me some brogueing I guess. But one piece of advice I kept getting when visiting forums, explaining my wardrobe and career (depositions and court multiple times per week) was that I absolutely MUST have plain black cap toes or punch caps (such as AE Park Ave or Fifth Ave) for serious meetings, court and funerals. Every time I'd ask "what shoes should I get next" I would get at least one response along the lines of "well, you know you need cap toed oxfords...." Websites on building a shoe wardrobe tell you the same thing. I started to question my choices.

Well, I am here to say that this is simply not true. Here is why: no one cares if you have wingtips or full brogues or half brogues or plain cap toes as long as (1) they are "dressy" enough (2) they are well-polished and (3) you are otherwise appropriately dressed.