Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can these be considered casual sneakers like Jack Purcell's?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can these be considered casual sneakers like Jack Purcell's?

Please don't bite my head off. I'm new to this all x]

http://cn1.kaboodle.com/hi/img/c/0/0...=1263005217000

They look kinda skateboard-shoe-ish to me...

Comment

They are(bummer). I want to buy a pair of Purcell's but I'm a bit broke. Can I pull it off? I know Joe says Purcell's are the highly versatile, but at the moment, I can't get them.

Would it be odd to wear this with a sport coat if everything else is spot on?

Comment

zappos has plenty of basic sneakers for not very much money. 6pm.com has a smaller selection for much cheaper, but you will have to know your size. Otherwise, Target.

This isn't a very sneaker-heavy forum. If the problem is that you don't know what you like yet, I suggest looking through this thread for ideas: http://www.styleforum.net/t/182388/the-definitive-sf-approved-non-baller-sneaker-thread/2100

Note: You will probably have to wade through a sea of derision to get any information on styleforum. Also, they often like weird things, and most people are best served by keeping things fairly simple. Look for simple and classic.

Comment

I've purchased from 6pm before so it was good that you brought it up. The thing is, I've never worn sneakers before that are very "low cut" because I have flat feet and MUST wear orthotics in my shoes. Do you have any suggestions for casual shoes that are highly versatile that allow me to place inserts(I use superfeet orthotics) in them?

Comment

@British, Potentially Onitsuka Tigers. They can be had for pretty cheap during a sale and have a nice style.

"You don't need money to dress better than you do" - Salvatore Romano

Comment

What's your budget?

Comment

If price is an issue, why not go for Chuck Taylor's instead? Similar, classic look and it's very versatile.

Comment

What size?