Internship Help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Internship Help

Hey guys! Long time listener, first time caller. I'm currently a sophomore and have an internship in NYC this summer in a conservative accounting firm. I'm wondering if anyone can direct me to any specific brands and stores that would offer good attire for me. As a sophomore, I don't think I'm done growing, so is a pretty expensive suit (Suit Supply level) worth it at this point? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

What size are you now?

Comment

I look at the stuff I bought several months ago as I was starting out with a wardrobe rehabilitation and think that you should never make a big ticket item one of your first purchases.

Heck, I haven't even figured out how to buy dress shirts that fit, and I've been trying for a while.

I would shop for a while - like a dozen stores in the mall, a dozen trips to 3-4 thrift shops, and a bunch of time marinating in some foundational style reads.

http://artofmanliness.com/2011/09/22...r-college-men/

http://artofmanliness.com/2010/04/16/how-to-build-a-manly-wardrobe-1/

On this site, the $1500 Wardrobe is a series that can't be beat:

http://dappered.com/tag/1500-wardrobe/

Once you thrift a couple sport coats that fit you well, you'll have a good sense of what size you are and begin to prepare for a high-quality suit. I wish I had started on that route.

Comment

Is a suit necessary at this internship? I'm at a Big 4 and we rarely wear suits, however, being in NYC might warrant one.

Comment

The team that is auditing my company right now from Deloitte dresses in business casual. However, we are in the advertising industry and therefore, in a very casual environment. I would assume that they dress according to the company that they are auditing/consulting. Therefore, you may need a suit or two if you will be out in the field. In their office, they wear business casual.