Suit Fit/Tailoring

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Suit Fit/Tailoring

Hey guys, a couple months ago I bought this great John Varvatos Delancey 36R suit for pretty cheap. It's been sitting in my closet and I planned on getting it tailored to wear to interviews as I'm looking for a new job. However, since I bought it I've started working out and now I think the chest might be a little too tight. As you can see in the (crappy) pictures, the lapel doesn't lay perfectly flat against my chest when it's buttoned and I have my arms at my sides.

Is this something a tailor can fix? Or is it a deal breaker? I really don't want to have to buy another since my budget is a bit tight right now.

Any advice would be awesome. I'm a total novice at this stuff. Thanks

Fixing a jacket that's too small in the chest would likely require letting out the shoulders (which is pretty much not possible). Are you having a difficult time moving in it now or are you just concerned for the look? For what it's worth, it LOOKS hardly noticeable.

And as an aside, it's generally not customary to leave the bottom button undone. I'm skeptical that will somehow affect the fit, but you can try it for free.

Comment

And for what it's worth, it's not particularly important for the lapel to lay flat against the jacket. Just so long as the jacket is laying flat against you. if it has more of a "roll" than a "crease", that's fine.

It's honestly difficult to see a problem from these pics. Just so long as it fits ok to you.

Comment

Thanks Alan. I can move fine in the jacket. Just concerned with it looking messy but I guess I'm just being really picky. Glad to hear you don't see a problem. I was afraid I'd have to go and buy a another new one.

I'll head to the tailor in the next few days and see what he says.

Comment

I don't think it looks messy at all.

Comment

I'd say hold your shoulders back a little more