Trench coat advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Trench coat advice

I need to find a trench for under 100 dollars; I know that's an optimistic price range, but there's some wiggle room (not too much, I'm a college student). I got one for Christmas, but it just wasn't what I was looking for. The other huge issue is that I have an olive green fedora (trilby) that I wear most of the time, so I want to avoid any color that might make me resemble inspector gadget. At the same time, I'd love to find something more interesting than solid black. A pattern would be awesome, but I can't seem to find any with a tasteful pattern for less than 1000. Any specific trenches, ideas on color, or even thoughts about it in general are welcome.

- I'm a big fan of the one that Mr. Blue wears (http://www.imdb.com/media/rm3462576896/tt0072251) in the original "The Taking of Pelham One Two Three."

Every time I hit up thrift stores, I always find a plethora of London Fog trench coats. Most of them are camel colors, but I have occasionally seen navy.

Comment

Yeah, you could do a London Fog from almost any thrift store. I've seen some interesting ones with grey and blue glen plaid.

I like my trench coat from Lands End Canvas (not sure if it's available anymore)... I got it for like $60 on sale at the beginning of the fall.... but it's just the regular khaki.

Good, Fast, Cheap.... pick 2.

Comment

They're hard to find (in navy) in the thrift stores I go to, but maybe it'd be worth the detour to get to a larger thrift store. I always feel like I'm swimming in the overcoats I find in thrift stores, so tailoring would be expensive I imagine. I do like the navy though, that'd be a nice color (and it'd go with practically everything I own).

Glenn plaid would be the ideal. But Gettysburg, PA (my hometown), as you can imagine, doesn't have huge thrift stores. And I haven't been able to find a big one in Albany, NY (the closest nearby city at school).

Comment