First suit search

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First suit search

Hi all, I too am in the process of buying my first suit. I didn't want anything too serious as I'm not going to need it anytime soon, and so I bought the LL Bean Twill navy suit on sale for about $120. I'm aware that it's too large (it's a 36R), but I was wondering if a good tailor could still make it look great. I'm a complete rookie when it comes to suits, and any advice would be great. Shall I keep it? If so, what should I tell the tailor? Included are some pics. Thanks again!

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images...2at1120am.jpg/

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images...at1120am2.jpg/

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images...2at1121am.jpg/

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images...at1121am2.jpg/

First, if you need a suit to wear for different events, don't buy a cotton suit. It's way too casual. Buy a suit that is 100% wool in either charcoal or navy. Browse through Dappered to get some good suggestions or do a search on Style Forum. Second, that suit is way too large. A tailor can help in making suits fit you better, but that suit is too large even for a tailor to fix. Most importantly, you want to make sure the suit fits well in the shoulders. Get measured at a department store or tailor if you don't know your measurements.

Comment

Yeah, that's not even close. A tailor is there to tweak a decent fit into a good or great fit. What you've got would require recutting and reconstructing the whole garment.

Comment

Cotton suits are like a convertible that's on sale without the top. On a hot, sunny day, it's perfect, but outside of that, you'll wish you had something more versatile.

I agree about getting measured. Don't be afraid to get measured a couple times until you're confident with your sizing. Men's Wearhouse or Jos. A. Bank? Not the right place. They added 4 inches to my chest.