So what do you do for a living?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

So what do you do for a living?

Hi all, long time lurker first time poster. So I was wondering what everyone did for a living that allows you the luxury of dressing nice. I graduated undergrad last May and luckily found a good job right out of school. I have been trying to upgrade my personal style but have been having trouble with my work attire. The thing is I work in the continuous improvement department of a steel manufacturer and my office is located inside a steel mill. The better I dress the more disconnected I feel from the union workers in the mill. It's also a tough environment to dress nice in because it can reach upper 90's in the summer but falls below freezing in the winter (there's also a lot of required safety gear I get to wear). I have been going with polo's for the summer and just button ups/oxfords here in the winter. But enough about me, what do all of you do for a living?

I work with kindergarteners and 1st graders with special needs, autism specifically. I also have a hard time dressing very nicely at work just because my clothes get dirty. For work, except tie day Friday, the most I do is a sweater over a dress shirt with chinos. Today is jeans, a custom RL rugby, and chukkas. So usually pretty casual but I try to keep the items fitted and nice. I'm still known as the "dressed up" guy.

"You don't need money to dress better than you do" - Salvatore Romano

Comment

I work in the Financial Industry.

Wells Fargo specifically, Private Banking. I constantly see clients with 500k+ in investments. Its key to look sharp in a suit everyday. No one appreciates a slouch handling that kind of money for you.

Comment

Journalist extraordinaire, here. I spend my days as the editor of an airline industry magazine, my nights freelancing about music.

Comment