Changing Majors

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Changing Majors

What majors did you have in school before the final one you graduated with? What major did you end up graduating with?

I'm a sophomore at my university and just switched from Digital Media to... Film.

My ideal career would be a successful filmmaker or producer, but that's rather rare, so I of course have some anxiety about where I'll be in 15 years. Nonetheless, I will never get the chance to have my dream career if I don't try this route.

My education was pretty straight-forward. I have a college degree in computer science, since I wanted to be a programmer. That's what I do now for a living.

Comment

I changed majors many, many times. The average student changes his major six times, and I was about on par with that. I went from economics to international affairs to chemistry to math to music, etc.... and ended up with analytic philosophy, a field in which I have my degree. Sophomore year is early, you'll be fine.

Comment

I only bounced around a bit in undergrad, but then got a Master's degree in a different subject from my major, and then a PhD in a related, but still distinct, field from either of those. So graduating with a major in something doesn't even stop you from changing "majors." Do what you are excited to do, and when you graduate try to use the skills you have acquired to do something you love, whatever it may be. At any rate, that's my advice.

Comment

Where are you getting that 6x average? Are those actual changes or just in-their-head changes? Seems ridiculously high.

I was always Econ, but contemplated a double in Math for a bit. Due to another minor, honors class reqs, and a semester internship, it seemed like too much of a hassle to bother.

Comment