CVT Engines - good? bad? indifferent?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

CVT Engines - good? bad? indifferent?

I am starting to look at buying a new car. Or at least a new car for the wife anyway. One of the cars that has caught her eye is a Subaru Crosstrek.

I'm starting to look in to the reliability of the car and I'm seeing issues/comments around the CVT engine. I have zero experience with CVT engines, having always driven manual transmission cars.

So. Here I am, wondering if anyone has any input/insight in to CVT engines. And if you have specific experience with Subaru, even better. Thanks.

In general like Subaru’s. My wife had one. My parents in law have had 3. My brother has one. The concerns with the CrossTek specific is the very underpowered engine. Especially if you take it to go skiing or anywhere to use the Awd. They should’ve put the WRX engine in there.

Also the other concerns with Subaru’s are the initial high cost for low features. Seems you’re in it for a lot to get comparable technology from other car companies.

I wish they’d bring back the hatchback WRX. I’d prob buy one.

Comment

I live in snow/mountain country and what [MENTION=13934]hockeysc23[/MENTION] said about the Crosstrek reflects what I've heard here. It drives like an anemic Outback. When I was shopping for a new car a couple years back I looked at the Outback and the Forester from Subaru, and the Toyota RAV4 and Honda CRV. Ended up going with the RAV4. Just seemed like equally as good a car as the Outback but cheaper. NO RAGRETS

Ben

Comment