Weekend Dappered discussion....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Weekend Dappered discussion....

I've noticed that alot of you guys have office type jobs. I'm guessing alot of the cloth you buy/wear are for work, or most of them. Lucky or unlucky for me, I've got a blue collar job,auto mechanic, I metioned this in my firt posted thread. We have uniforms, and instead of an office and desk I've got a toolbox,bench and a lift. Suede wingtips just won't work here,haha.

Anyone else in the same boat as me? Where any nice cloth is usally worn on the weekends or after work for a few hours? Since we speand so much of our lives at work, for me mon-fri 8-5 and a few sats 8-3. I just feel like I dont need 4-5 suits, I dont need whole lot of ties. Know what I mean? I'm not gonna put on Allen Edmonds, with a 3 piece suit,tie, pocket square and head to work. Just wondering, thats all.

I'm in the same boat. I work as a programmer, but in a blue collar office. We hire plumbers, electricians, etc. Most of the guys just wear the company work shirt, even the boss. I'm not even sure he own a suit.

Comment

I work with Kindergarteners and 1st Graders with special needs. Nice clothes at work is a terrible idea. I just try to keep my casual wardrobe well-stocked and well put together. But mostly things I can just throw in the wash. I tend to change after work and dress nicer on the weekends.

"You don't need money to dress better than you do" - Salvatore Romano

Comment

Not quite the same situation, but as a student, I would stand out like a sore thumb if I dared to wear a 3-piece suit. So my desired wardrobe is just classic casual pieces, up to business casual if I'm feeling risky. :P

Comment

I agree with thmage. I'm a student too, and he's exactly right about sticking out like a sore thumb if you wear anything too "fancy" for school. It is said that people dress better at my university than others, but I just don't see it...

Comment