Photography

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Photography

Hey guys. I know this is a miscellaneous subject, but I was wondering if I could get some advice. I've acquired an interest in photography. But I don't really know where to begin. There are some classes online for starting photographers, but I'm on a short budget and I would rather save the money to buy a good camera first, then take courses. But I dont know if that's the right thing to do. Right now I have a digital Casio "Exilim" camera and my handy dandy phone. I'm a complete newb to this. Can I learn anything from the camera I have right now? Or should I save to buy a really good one? Should I go look into taking some online classes? Any cheap recommendations to learn photo editing and mastering photoshop, etc.?

I know there's a couple guys here who are pretty good at editing, instragram and use photography as a side hobby. Which is pretty much all I want to do also. But I'm not sure where to begin. Any knowledgeable guys out there that can help me?

With your existing Exilim, you can learn composition and some lighting, but if you're genuinely serious, you'll want to eventually upgrade to a camera that can take pictures in full manual mode. More often than not, that means a DSLR (even though there are new alternatives).

Entry level SLR's can be found for $500 and they go up from there. There's no harm in getting something entry-level to see if it's for you, and then upgrading later. They are now making point-and-shoots with full manual modes, but they're rather inconvenient to work with since they dno't ahve the range of control knobs and buttons that an SLR will have. They also don't have the same performance and good ones cost as much as entry-level SLR's anyways.