Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Coincidence or Thievery?

Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)

Coincidence or Thievery?

I do not believe that I have ever mentioned on the threads that I am a visual artist. There has been a discussion of late amongst some artist friends of mine over Target and their blatant use of artwork in advertisements and products. I am generally a frequent customer at Target, however as I begin to see more and more examples of this supposed thievery I can't help but start to reconsider shopping there. I would like to hear your thoughts on this.

A couple of examples:

A T-shirt found in Target

One of many paintings to feature this type of image by artist Tim Biskup.

A commercial by Target

Painting by Eric White

Varsity Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    What's a visual artist?

And, you've taken the time to confirm that Target didn't license these images before accusing them of stealing them, right?

Mentioned
    78 Post(s)
    Quoted
    325 Post(s)
    Target isn't run by a bunch of monkeys. Where they use other people's intellectual property, I am sure they have acquired the appropriate permission or license.
    BenR

Mentioned
    37 Post(s)
    Quoted
    128 Post(s)
    @MikeAD91: I'm assuming a visual artist is someone who makes art that is intended to be viewed by the human eye - or was that a rhetorical question?

The latter image looks more like reference or homage than theft to me (always a tricky line, but that's my knee-jerk take). The tshirt, assuming it's not licensed, is a bit more shady. Could be a coincidence, I suppose, but it looks a little more like a copy.

Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeAD91 View Post
    What's a visual artist?
    http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Visual_arts